The forum will experience an outage sometime between February 10 at 7:00pm EST and February 12 at 11:59 EST for installation of security updates. The actual time and duration of the outage are unknown but attempts will be made to minimize the downtime. We apologize for any inconvenience.

This is TODAY (2009 12 15)...

Object Relational Mappers: Friend or Foe?

Join the SQL Anywhere experts for a deep dive discussion on Object Relational Mappers.

Object relational mappers (ORMs) such as LINQ, Hibernate, and ActiveRecord bridge the gap between the relational database world, and the object-oriented world. By abstracting the database into "virtual database objects", they let programmers develop in any language and environment that they like without ever writing a line of SQL. It sounds great, but is the ORMs sweet song actually a siren's call? This talk will put ORMs on trial to help us find the answer.

Presenter: Glenn Paulley, Director of Engineering

Date: Tuesday December 15th 2009 yes TODAY

Time: 7am PST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT / 4pm CET

or 11am PST / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT / 8pm CET

Register Now!

asked 15 Dec '09, 09:45

Breck%20Carter's gravatar image

Breck Carter
26.7k418577825
accept rate: 20%

edited 26 Jan '10, 12:15


If you missed the webcast, a Flash recording of the webcast (with slides) is now available here. After entering some contact information about you, you'll then be redirected to a page that automatically downloads the flash presentation and starts it straightaway.

permanent link

answered 22 Dec '09, 12:59

Glenn%20Paulley's gravatar image

Glenn Paulley
10.7k568104
accept rate: 43%

edited 22 Dec '09, 13:06

Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or _italic_
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Question tags:

×47
×4

question asked: 15 Dec '09, 09:45

question was seen: 685 times

last updated: 26 Jan '10, 12:15